15 BookTok creators recommend great sci-fi books to read


Trying to determine what to learn subsequent could be overwhelming, particularly with the variety of wonderful science fiction and fantasy books that come out yearly. But dozens of E bookTokers — TikTokers who deal with books, from sharing favorites to critiquing classics — are right here to assist.

We’ve made an inventory of a few of our favourite E bookTokers who both deal with SFF, or have broad style that features a whole lot of speculative books. Fear not; this checklist expands past the a lot hyped books like Olivie Blake’s The Atlas Six or Sarah J. Maas’s quite a few fantasy titles. This isn’t an exhaustive checklist both — the large world of E bookTook is filled with creators who do wonderful work. We’ll add to this checklist as we discover new favorites.

@fayestephensonn

To kick issues off, Faye has SFF suggestions galore — particularly books with queer illustration — together with plenty of lighthearted comedy about style tropes and the inevitable haze of popping out from studying a protracted fic. Come for the books, and keep for the extremely rad rotation of hair colours and types (but additionally for the books, clearly).

@camilletealatte

Camille Kelly’s TikToks vary from suggestions — like this checklist of books with a “fanfiction-y feel” — to jokes about their very own bookish habits or bits about traditional literature and fantasy. Science fiction and fantasy books are peppered all through these movies. They’re nice to comply with not simply to broaden studying suggestions, however so as to add extra humor to your feed.

@book_reviews_kill

Evan’s focus is on SFF, although his style leans fantasy. His TikToks vary from considerate evaluation of particular person titles, like V.E. Schwab’s The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue and Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Elder Race, to greatest books of the 12 months, all-time favorites, and ebook hauls. His movies can have a tendency towards the longer aspect, since they’re analysis-heavy — however they’re very accessible, and an incredible selection for these simply beginning to get into SFF or seasoned readers who need to dig deeper.

@aresreads

Ares recommends tons of SFF like hefty fantasy sequence, graphic novels and comics (like Saga and Monstress), in addition to manga. Ares additionally shares sources to assist readers diversify the authors featured on their cabinets. (And once I see somebody who loves Ken Liu’s Dandelion Dynasty, I have to characteristic them.)

@thoughtsontomes_

If you like SFF tropes and need to add to that to-read stack, you’ve come to proper place. Sam makes plenty of particular suggestions primarily based on tropes and themes like feminine rage, hero to villain, or darkish academia — together with sharing queer readings of SFF.

@chaptersofchi

Adannia’s style is broad and pretty omnivorous, together with literary fiction like Yaa Gyasi’s Transcendent Kingdom in addition to romance and YA. Of course, she additionally options tons of science fiction and fantasy, with a deal with an inclusive vary of reads — that includes plenty of SFF heavy hitters like Octavia E. Butler and Nnedi Okorafor. Adannia’s TikToks additionally contact on topics like anti-Blackness in E bookTook (and in publishing and criticism extra broadly).

@books.with.lee

Lee’s style can also be very broad, however with a deal with worldwide authors — particularly along with her present 2022 focus, the “Reading Across Africa” problem. (In her Storygraph, yow will discover books she’s learn, organized by the nation the ebook is about in or the nation the writer is writing from.) Throughout the 12 months, she’s additionally shared her favourite speculative books written by African authors, together with books printed in America that have been impressed by African mythology. She additionally originated a pattern the place E bookTokers share pictures of their favourite books within the thumbnail — shopping these is an effective way to rapidly discover different creators to comply with.

@melissas.bookshelf

Melissa Blair, who can also be the writer of A Broken Blade, recommends a broad vary of books, together with science fiction and fantasy, typically highlighting indigenous authors (like Karen McBride, who wrote Crow Winter, a speculative literary fiction work). I’d suggest watching her tour of her native bookstore, the place she factors out nice books from indigenous authors in Canada and the United States.

@libraryofclaire

If you have been searching for queer suggestions, you’ve come to the suitable place. Claire champions books from throughout genres — with a frequent deal with science fiction — however they do a wonderful job of highlighting queer SFF in addition to sapphic books of all sorts. (Hello, Gideon the Ninth.) They even have a wonderful checklist of books to learn in case you like D&D.

@johannawithbooks

If you’re trying so as to add extra Latinx authors to your shelf, you’ll be able to’t go fallacious with Johanna’s suggestions. This ebook haul alone has a ton of fantastic books to dig into (Fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Gods of Jade and Shadow stand up!!!).

@limmadi8

Madi Lim recommends books throughout a wide range of genres, however science fiction and fantasy are in common rotation. She additionally makes “BookTok News” TikToks devoted to information — and E bookTook tea — from film adaptation bulletins to conventions gone fallacious. Some of her suggestions embrace Sue Lynn Tan’s Daughter of the Moon Goddess and Aiden Thomas’ Cemetery Boys.

@asthebookends

If you’re within the temper for plenty of SFF lists to dig via, particularly centered on granular themes — like city fantasy or fallen heroes — or just books with a sure degree of “spice” (E bookTook communicate for the way express or sizzling a ebook is), Erin Fehres’ account is for you. Peppered with lists and particular person suggestions, there’s tons to select from.

@amivireads

Amivi runs a bookclub known as “Sapphic and Proud” with queer favorites throughout genres, together with science fiction and fantasy. They share tons of sapphic must-reads and fantasy suggestions from Black writers, with favorites that embrace Ayana Gray’s Beasts of Prey and N.E. Davenport’s The Blood Trials.

@bookwormbullet

Ayushi champions various books that haven’t taken off on E bookTook, however nonetheless deserve the love and a spotlight of readers. She additionally highlights YA fantasies written by ladies of colour, and reps plenty of Desi authors — each SFF and outdoors the style. (If you’re additionally a romance reader, Ayushi has bought you coated.)

@sayde_reads

Last however undoubtedly not least, Sayde’s style additionally runs the gamut, and SFF books are in common rotation (typically whereas Sayde wears these cool elven ears). Featured titles vary from beloved books for the mythology youngsters, like Circe and Ariadne, to “existential horror manga” that might spook even probably the most stalwart readers. Sayde additionally has wonderful suggestions for readers who’ve loved a whole lot of standard E bookTook titles and wish to leap to grownup fantasy books which are comparable.

Leave a Comment